Sometimes my thoughts run wild.

Writing has always come natural to me.  In fact sometimes its so easy it scares me.  Now that I’m jumping back into it,  I’ve noticed a few things.

Reading through some poems I found online. Two things became apparent.   There is an immense amount of talent out there.  It actually makes me happy knowing that there are so many talented young writers out there. 

The other thing I’ve noticed is something that scares the hell out of me.  The art of storytelling is dying.  However you choose to look at it, the world has become obsessed with things like Jersey Shore and “Swag”. 

Everywhere I look, I see kids looking up to Drake, Lil Wayne and Pauly D.  What happened to Shakespeare,  Chaucer and Poe?

The only thing that renews my faith in our society,  is knowing that there are still people out there that are truing to save this dying art.  People like William Camacho, Ricky Tolson, Reko Moreno and Kat Castaneda.  I have been lucky enough to read work done by all four of them.

It makes me think, it inspires me and it has made me cry.  I’m left with one thought.  I hope I never have to explain what a book is.

Leave a Reply

