Hit Record

We all have our dreams
What are e gonna do with them
Sit around and wait
Or take our chances and jump

Into the endless spin
Vinyl records and celluloid ribbons
Hammering away on your old Remington
You chose a typewriter over a laptop

Random thoughts scrawled all over
Tattered parchment sheets
Quarter inch cable plugged in
Go for broke and hit record

Page after endless page
The cramp in my wrist reminds me
That even with these big dreams
I am still an ordinary person

Even when I want to give up and go home
I burned that bridge a long time ago
Left myself with only one choice
There’s no looking back

This is my history that hasn’t happened yet
So I guess that makes it a story
A new page everyday
No end in sight

Leave a Reply

